ELIGIBLE COUNTRIES

The Erasmus+ Programme is open to the following countries:

PROGRAMME COUNTRIES

The following countries can fully take part in all the Actions of the Erasmus+ Programme:

Member States of the European Union (EU) ⁴				
Belgium	Greece	Lithuania	Portugal	
Bulgaria	Spain	Luxembourg	Romania	
Czech Republic	France	Hungary	Slovenia	
Denmark	Croatia	Malta	Slovakia	
Germany	Italy	Netherlands	Finland	
Estonia	Cyprus	Austria	Sweden	
Ireland	Latvia	Poland	United Kingdom	

	Non EU Programme Countries	
former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia Iceland	Liechtenstein Norway	Switzerland Turkey

PARTNER COUNTRIES

The following countries can take part in certain Actions of the Programme, subject to specific criteria or conditions (for more information, please consult Part B of this Guide):

PARTNER COUNTRIES NEIGHBOURING THE EU⁵

Eastern Partnership countries:	Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Georgia, Moldova, Ukraine
Southern Mediterranean countries:	Algeria, Egypt, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Libya, Morocco, Palestine, Syria, Tunisia
Western Balkans:	Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo ⁶ , Montenegro, Serbia
Other:	Russian Federation

OTHER PARTNER COUNTRIES

Some Actions of the Programme are open to any Partner Country of the world. For some other Actions the geographical scope is less broad. For more information, please consult the detailed description of the Actions of the Programme in the Part B of this Guide.

REQUIREMENTS REGARDING VISA AND RESIDENCE PERMITS

Participants in Erasmus+ projects may need to obtain a visa for staying abroad in the Programme or Partner Country hosting the activity. It is a responsibility of all the participating organisations to ensure that the authorisations required (short or long-term stay visas or residence permits) are in order before the planned activity takes place. It is strongly recommended that the authorisations are requested from the competent authorities well in advance, since the process may take several weeks. National Agencies and the Executive Agency may give further advice and support concerning visas, residence permits, social security, etc. The EU Immigration Portal contains general information on visa and residence permits, for both short-term and long-term stays: http://ec.europa.eu/immigration/tab2.do?subSec=11&language=7\$en.

⁴ Individuals from an Overseas Country and Territory (OCT), and where applicable the relevant public and/or private bodies and institutions in an OCT, shall be eligible for the Erasmus+, subject to the rules of the Programme and the arrangements applicable to the Member State with which they are connected. The concerned OCTs are listed in annex 1A of Council decision of 27 November 2001 on the association of the overseas countries and territories with the European Community (2200/822/EC), OJ L 314 of 30 November 2001.

⁵ The eligibility criteria formulated in commission notice Nr.2013/C-205/05 (OJEU C-205 of 19/07/2013, pp. 9-11) shall apply for all actions implemented through this Programme Guide.

⁶ This designation is without prejudice to positions on status, and is in line with UNSCR 1244 and the ICJ Opinion on the Kosovo declaration of independence.